Making a Silhouette from a Photograph ~~~ If you have a steady hand and a sharp blade, it is pretty easy to make a charming, old-fashioned silhouette of your loved ones. Grab your camera and have your grandkids or spouse stand still for a second. No make-up needed for this one!

I decided to do this project in about 1977, when I took this first photo. I am nothing if not a procrastinator! I am glad I waited; it is SO much easier with a computer and scanner! This is my handsome husband, Mike at our home on Gull Road in Kalamazoo, MI. As you can see, I was pretty close to cutting off the top of his head, so when I scanned it, I put another photo in back of it to give me room to work.

Crop the photo to a 4 x 6 size, and have it printed. Carefully cut around the face and neckline using an exact-o knife and mat.

This is what you will end up with.

Go to your computer scanner, and grab something black. I used a piece of black felt.

You are going to turn the photo over so the white side is facing DOWN, and then cover it with the black.

Scan.

You will have to clean this up. Crop it and set your settings to the highest brightness/contrast you can get.

I cleaned it up even more. There are sites and programs you can use to get rid of dust and such. I use Creating Keepsakes Scrapbook Designer or ipiccy. Or, you can just use a black marker when you get the print.

After I was done with these, I took them to Office Depot and had them printed on 8×10 cardstock.

I am thinking of making another project out of these. I put four of them on the scanner bed so they would be smaller. I hope to get them small enough so I can make them into a photo-bracelet.

I added the names with a Disney font.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

